Positive Beliefs: What’s the worst that could happen?

I have found that sometimes truly believing in something positive (even if you don’t think it is true, or you think it is stupid) can really make a person feel better. I know this sounds like something that your therapist keeps telling you, but in this case, they are stressing it for a reason.

For me personally, I was living with intense fear that I might be attacked (which I’m sure some of you have felt). This fear did not have many (if any) positives for me. It left me feeling distraught.

As a Christian, I instead started to finally believe the verses that I have read and been told many times.

There are so many positive verses out there. Here are a couple of my favorites.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus“ (Philippians 4:6-7).

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things” (Philippians 4:8).

The above verses were written by Paul, when he was awaiting his trial for being a Christian. This trial was before the Roman emperor.

At first, I did not think that this would help. But, when I sincerely believed them, I did notice a big difference in my life and I felt much better.

Do not expect change to happen instantaneously, like many things it may take some time and patience. Don’t give up if it doesn’t work immediately. This works for many people and it may work for you too.

Again, (I cannot stress this enough) if you want results, you have to sincerely believe it and practice it. I recommend daily devotionals or Bible readings.

What’s the worst thing that could happen from believing something positive? The negative is not helpful, so why let it surround your life?

1 Comment

  1. 1sparrow

    You are wise to tell your readers that improvement takes time! Thank you for sharing your insight with others and thank you for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

